

Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus Director General World Health Organization Avenue Appia 20, 1202 Geneva

17<sup>th</sup> April 2020

Dear Dr Tedros

On behalf of colleagues that are members of the United Nations Safety Collaboration I am pleased to send you the following statement.

As members of the United Nations Road Safety Collaboration we wish to record our appreciation and support for the outstanding role and leadership of the World Health Organization (WHO) in global road safety. The WHO has led the promotion of best practice in road injury prevention during the UN Decade of Action for Road Safety; has established a surveillance system to measure the burden of road injury through the periodic Global Status Report on Road Safety; has co-organised successive global ministerial conferences on road safety, such as the recent successful 3<sup>rd</sup> Global Conference hosted by the Government of Sweden; has served as the UN system wide co-ordinator for road safety, and has always acted as a champion of the efforts of the non-government organisations that contribute so much to the practical delivery of effective road injury prevention programmes around the world. We deplore any curtailment of funding to the WHO that will diminish its vital leadership role in global public health and road injury prevention.

This statement was approved at the 29<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the UNRSC meeting held virtually on the 16<sup>th</sup> April 2020 by the following:

Antonio Avenoso, Executive Director, European Transport Safety Council Claudia Adriazola-Steil, Director, Health and Road Safety Program, WRI Ross Center for Sustainable Cities Dr Abdulgafoor M. Bachani, PhD MHS, Assistant Professor, International Health Director, Johns Hopkins International Injury Research Unit, Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health Saul Billingsley, Director General, FIA Foundation Benacer Boulaajoul, President, Prévention Routière Internationale Lotte Brondum, Executive Director, Global Alliance of NGOs for Road Safety Wouter Van den Berghe, Research Director, VIAS Institute Japh R Chuwe, Registrar/Chief Executive Officer, Road Traffic Infringement Agency, South Africa Jesper Christensen, Director Public Affairs, Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme David Cliff, Chief Executive Officer, Global Road Safety Partnership Greig Craft, President of the Asia Injury Prevention Foundation Jim Fitzpatrick, Chairman, FIRE AID Alejandro Furas, Secretary General, Global New Car Assessment Programme

TOWARDS ZERO FOUNDATION 118 Pall Mall London SW1Y 5ED United Kingdom

Jeannot Mersch, President, European Federation of Road Traffic Victims Peter Hartzell, Committee Manager, ISO/TC 241 – Road Traffic Safety Management Systems Dr Adnan A. Hyder, MD MPH PhD, Senior Associate Dean for Research, Professor of Global Health, Milken Institute School of Public Health, George Washington University Floor Lieshout, Director, Youth for Road Safety (YOURS) Emma MacLennan, Director of the Eastern Alliance for Safe & Sustainable Transport Jesús Monclús, Prevention and Road Safety Director, Fundación MAPFRE Dr Lori Mooren, Safety and Communications Pty Ltd Dr Margie Peden, Head Global Injury Programme, The George Institute for Global Health Donna Price, Founder & Co Chair International Road Victims' Partnership Dr Ndeye Awa Sarr, President, Laser International Rochelle Sobel, President, Association For Safe International Travel Jessica Truong, Coordinator, Commonwealth Road Safety Initiative Geert van Waeg, President, International Federation of Pedestrians Adrian Walsh, Director, Road Safe David Ward, President & CEO, Towards Zero Foundation Jeffrey Witte, Executive Director, Amend Susanna Zammataro, Director General, International Road Federation, Switzerland.

As leaders in road safety we are all proud to stand with the WHO and applaud its work promoting public health worldwide.

With best wishes

David Ward, President & CEO